Latest News

Back to Latest News back


MotoGP marks 75th anniversary throughout 2024

MotoGP marks 75th anniversary throughout 2024
January 11, 2024

This year sees MotoGP™ complete 75 full seasons of competition since the global sport commenced in 1949.

MotoGP has marked the occasion with the unveiling of a new logo for the 75th anniversary that will now take centre stage throughout celebrations and the 2024 season.

There will be more milestones along the way too, including the 75th anniversary of the very first race that counted towards the world championship classification – the 350cc race on the Isle of Man in 1949 – on the 13th June. Then it’s the anniversary of the first premier class race, which was on the 17th June 1949.

MotoGp has created an all-new 75th anniversary page to provide fans with historic and contemporary content – adding content throughout the season.

Below are some of the biggest stats from across 75 years of MotoGp racing

The Grands Prix
MotoGp celebrated GP1000 at Le Mans in 2023, so by the start of 2024, there have been 1015 Grands Prix staged since the start of the World Championship in 1949, comprising 3371 races for solo classes.

The Champions
126 riders have become World Champions – many more than once. The rider with most world titles is Giacomo Agostini with 15, followed by Angel Nieto (12 + 1), Mike Hailwood (9), Valentino Rossi (9) and Carlo Ubbiali (9). Another name could add theirs in 2024: Marc Marquez (Gresini Racing MotoGP™) has eight Championships on the way in…

The Winners
399 riders have won Grands Prix in solo classes – so reaching 400 in 2024 seems not only plausible or possible, but likely. The most recent maiden GP winner is Collin Veijer (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP) after his Moto3™ victory at Sepang.

The Manufacturers
Honda is the most successful manufacturer in Grand Prix racing (solo classes) with 821 wins followed by Yamaha (520), Aprilia (297), MV Agusta (275) and Kalex (176).

The Countries
30 nationalities have won solo Grand Prix races. Italy has the most wins, 888, followed by Spain on 722.

30 countries have staged Grands Prix too. The most recent country to debut on the calendar is India, with Buddh International Circuit welcoming MotoGP™ for the first time in 2023. 2024 sees Kazakhstan set to become country 31.

MotoGp looks forward to a record-breaking 2024 calendar.

Related Articles

26th November 2023 - Zendure spotlights its contribution to sustainability and innovation at MotoGP

10th November 2023 - MotoGP hits a new social media milestone with 50 million followers

3rd October 2023 - MotoGP experiences 20% growth inĀ global audiences

28th September 2023 - MotoGP releases its provisional 2024 world championship calendar

22nd September 2023 - MotoGP and AWorld launch new fan engagement project for sustainable action

1st September 2023 - MotoGP names GoPro as official Action Camera Partner

25th July 2023 - Re-imagined website for MotoGP enhances fan engagement

13th July 2023 - MotoGP partners with Never Say Never agency to enhance fan engagement

22nd February 2023 - Experienced, cohesive team announced for another year of sporting success for MotoGP

7th November 2022 - Fan experience enhanced by MotoGP Circuit App

5th October 2022 - MotoGP to make its debut in India in 2023

19th September 2022 - Dorna Sports obtains certification for its sustainable event management system of the MotoGP World Championship

6th September 2022 - Dorna Sports and Saudi Motorsport Company to host MotoGP in Saudi Arabia

25th August 2022 - MotoGP launches its first Augmented Reality lens on Snapchat to innovatively engage with fans

22nd August 2022 - Sprint races to be introduced at every MotoGP Grand Prix to enhance fan experience

14th July 2022 - 100,000 fans respond to Global MotoGP Fan Survey