Latest News

Back to Latest News back


Australian teams withdraw from Asian Champions League

Australian teams withdraw from Asian Champions League
June 4, 2021

The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) has revealed that Australia’s three representatives in the AFC Champions League (ACL) have withdrawn from the continent’s flagship club competition, due to kick-off later in June.

In a statement, the AFC revealed “the AFC has taken note of Football Australia’s confirmation of the withdrawals of Sydney FC, Melbourne City FC and Brisbane Roar from the Group, Playoff and Preliminary stages of the 2021 AFC Champions League respectively.”

While the worsening COVID-19 situation in much of Asia was a worry for Australia’s representatives, changing dates for the tournament’s fixtures was also presenting scheduling clashes for the teams.

With all three clubs poised to finish in the top six of the A-League season to book their place in the Finals Series, earlier today the Australian Premier League confirmed that the A-League Finals Series has been extended from their original dates due to the current COVID-19 situation within Victoria, with the Grand Final set to take place on the 26th June.

All Australian participating clubs in this year’s edition of the ACL were scheduled to compete in a hub-style environment similar to last year’s edition on dates coinciding with the A-League finals series.

Sydney FC were due to play their group stage fixtures in Uzbekistan, commencing with a clash against South Korean club Jeonbuk Motors FC on 26th June.

The Brisbane Roar were due to play their preliminary stage fixture against Phillipines club Kaya FC-Ilolio on 20th June in Thailand while Melbourne City were due to play their playoff match against Cerezo Osaka of Japan on 21st June.

Last year, the Perth Glory were prepared to face a $50,000 fine and a three-year ban from the competition for refusing to travel to Korea for a group stage fixture in last year’s edition of the ACL.

The Glory did not end up being sanctioned, yet all three A-League clubs and the FA are faced with differing circumstances in this instance.

Suggesting that Sydney FC, Melbourne City FC and Brisbane Roar may face sanctions this year, the AFC statement added “the matter will now be referred to the relevant AFC Committees, with a decision to be communicated in due course.”

Related Articles

14th May 2021 - A-League’s Macarthur FC and Sydney FC each reveal plans for new training facilities

11th May 2021 - AFC Cup matches scheduled for Maldives hub postponed ‘until further notice’

7th April 2021 - Professional footballers make use of $1 million in education subsidies

1st April 2021 - Chinese Football Association disqualifies six clubs over financial problems

2nd March 2021 - Chinese Super League champions ceases operations in blow to nation’s football aspirations

24th February 2021 - Agreement sees A-League games return to Tasmania

23rd February 2021 - Football Australia reveals legacy plan to capitalise on hosting FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 to Government

22nd February 2021 - Football Australia Director Heather Reid voted off NSO’s board

18th February 2021 - Football Victoria announces pledge to ‘unite the futsal community’

10th February 2021 - A-League’s Western Sydney Wanderers partnership sees rejection of gambling sponsors

28th January 2021 - A-League’s Macarthur FC and NRL’s Rabbitohs reveal ticketing partnership

26th January 2021 - AFC to stage 2021 club competitions at centralised locations

22nd January 2021 - A-League’s Western United gets planning approval for new Wyndham City Stadium

20th January 2021 - A-League clubs collaborate with Epic Games’ Fortnite

8th January 2021 - Venues NSW tells Sydney fans not to attend tonight’s A-League and W-League games in Newcastle

5th January 2021 - Consortium of A-League clubs to take over Newcastle Jets

31st December 2020 - A-League completes separation from Football Australia

17th December 2020 - A-League’s Melbourne City relocation to incorporate Team 11 bid assets

27th November 2020 - Wellington Phoenix Football Club moves to Wollongong for 2020/21 A-League season

6th June 2019 - China named 2023 AFC Asian Cup hosts

8th April 2019 - Football Federation Australia Chair appointed to AFC Executive Committee

13th October 2018 - AAFC appoints experienced sports administrator to drive football’s national second division